Badby 5/4/09 SMC Champs Rnd 1


South Midland Centre Championships 2009- Round 1, NMCC at Badby

Report: Fraser Law


The 2009 SMC Championship got underway last weekend at Badby hosted by NMCC. In marked contrast to the club’s last event, this one took place on a beautiful sunny day. With the track prepped and watered, the picturesque location was set to stage some great racing.

In the Expert class the racing was close and unpredictable. Only two points separated the top three overall, with each race producing a different winner. In the end it was race three winner Dale Raynor who took the top honours from race two winner Paul Burn. Mark Boswell finished a close third after winning the opening encounter. In the Junior A group Alfie Smith dominated, winning both finals but being kept honest by fast and smooth riding Jordan Wright, twice runner up. Some distance behind these two Joe Wyse took the final podium place in both encounters. Despite winning the opening two Over40 encounters, Tony Leishman was denied the overall victory after a final race mishap. After two runner up finishes Richard Wright was ideally placed to take advantage, snatching both the final win and the overall. Steve Bottoms’ consistent finishes gave him a deserved third overall. Despite a third first time out in the Over 50’s, Bob Mott upped his game to win both the other legs and take overall victory. Three consecutive second places gave the overall second to another Leishman, this time Archie with Andrew Brightman just one point adrift.

The Junior B class finished in exactly the same positions both times out, right down to eighth place. James Hanson led home Matt Willis from James Houlihan. Ryan Griffiths made amends for some problems in the Experts races by winning the Under 40 club championship class, with Joe Wyse taking second from Martin Streeton. In the 125 club championship class Jordan Wright was unbeatable. Three clear wins gave him the overall while Adam Collins and Trevor Bird fought closely for the runner up spot.

The next round of the SMC Championships takes place at Crick on 17 May.



1 Dale Raynor, 2 Paul Burn, 3 Mark Boswell, 4 Paul Edge, 5 Michael McClurg


1 Alfie Smith, 2 Jordan Wright, 3 Joe Wyse, 4 Tony Leishman, 5 Adam Collins, 6 Scott Pope


1 James Hanson, 2 Matt Willis, 3 James Houlihan, 4 Stuart McClurg, 5 Kevin Turnbull, 6 James Beeby

Over 40

1 Richard Wright, 2 Tony Leishman, 3 Steve Bottoms, 4 Kevin Turnbull, 5 Stephen Cole, 6 Gary Fleckney

Over 50

1 Bob Mott, 2 Archie Leishman, 3 Andrew Brightman, 4 Roger Knibbs, 5 Trevor Roberts, 6 Steve Morgan

Under 40

1 Ryan Griffiths, 2 Joe Wyse, 3 Martin Streeton, 4 Matt Willis, 5 Dan Holmes, 6 Dale Raynor


1 Jordan Wright, 2 Adam Collins, 3 Trevor Bird, 4 Matt Willis, 5 Fraser Law, 6 Jack Barnwell

Full results here

Return to Main Page